Who’s on Top?

I just read the news. Yes, I know, some days, I wonder why. But I had my coffee, a quiet house, and another hour before I really need to get ready. It is sunny outside, I am looking at the apple orchard… what else?

I read Metro on the iPad. It is simple, straight to the point, and I have to say, it gets my brain to wire in a different way. Sometimes I don’t get the title with the first read. So, it is ike deciphering a special code. There was an article about the author of Winnie the Pooh, AA Milne. It was referring to the fact that he was working for intelligence during WW1. However, I read the article and it did not really explain how so… Another piece of information that is “only” in the title.

afghanThere was also this picture, that I am borrowing. I hope they won’t mind. If they do, well, I will be happy, it means they read my blog, I’m famous! But take a look for yourself. This is today in Afghanistan.

A woman, veiled and hidden passes by… a street vendor. When I saw this picture, I seriously wondered.
My first thought was: well, if the man was wearing the veil, no one would buy from him. They would just think he was the curtain to a dog house or something.
My second thought was Oh, my! He IS in a dog house! Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against dog houses, but men in “these” countries are supposed to be on top, right?

This picture reminded me of a chat I had with my Dad. He is a lovely man, but he comes from a different time. He was never so lovely to my Mum and now that he is getting older, he is simply becoming bitter and unpleasant. I told him one day that the way he treated my Mum could be called “abuse.” He was extremely surprised, pointed at my Mum and said:
– “This one? I could not put her down, it is impossible!”
In his mind, putting down his woman is the thing to do. Women are “equal but not so equal” to men. According to him, women have it easy: they are liked, they don’t need to work, they can enjoy being home, they don’t need to change a tire on the car or check the oil etc. It goes on and on.

There is no way to explain to my father that women are not “supposed to be put down.” In his mind, having a wife is pretty much like having a dog (what is it with me and dogs this morning?), you need to show you are the leader of the pack or they’ll eat you alive. My father is still at war for some reason.

When I look at this picture, I see that he might not be the only one. And they are right: No one can put down women. See the one on the photo, she might be under the veil and fully covered, but the man is down, and she… is on top!

Leave a Reply

